Author Topic: Monitors and compatibility with 506  (Read 5304 times)

M. Boone

Monitors and compatibility with 506
« on: October 03, 2017, 11:38:39 PM »
Hey guys,

I have no experience with monitors or knowledge of how they work with what we do. I was hoping for some feedback on the best bang for your buck particularly as it has to do with 506 operations and trainings.

Is 4K where it's at?
Or is a 1080p with 144hz where it's at?
Is there a significant difference from 1ms to 5ms?
Are extra wide monitors worth it?

Does our server frame rates negate any monitor specs? Not saying I have the money, but if I got some 4K 144hz monitor (if they're out), would it matter because the server is bogged down?

Thanks guys!

1LT J. N. Lee

• 11A Infantry Officer
  • Combat Element
Re: Monitors and compatibility with 506
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2017, 11:47:57 PM »
With ArmA 3 and for our Operations in particular, I highly doubt any machine right now would be capable of going 4K while still retaining reasonable frame rates, or hitting 144fps @ 1080p. I myself have a 144hz 1080p monitor and a G-Sync 1440p monitor, with an overclocked i7 7700k @ 4.5MHz up to 5.0 MHz while gaming, and a GTX 1080, and I can tell you if I get 40 FPS at any point during an operation I'd thank the ArmA gods. Even if I'm only running 1 monitor at a time, 40 FPS is still my FPS goal for any operations in our unit. As for the difference between 1ms and 5ms monitors, I don't really think you should pay too much attention towards that number. If you're going for a high-quality gaming monitor already then it will almost always be between 1-3ms delay. As for extra wide monitors, I've never owned one myself so I can't really say. Hope this helps!
J. N. LEE
1LT, IN
Platoon Leader, Co A\1-506 Infantry

1st Lt (Ret) Hardman

• 10C0 Operations Commander
  • Retired
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2017, 11:52:55 PM »
My 2c,