Open Forum > Computer Hardware

New Computer

(1/2) > >>

SGT (Ret) Falconer:
Corsair Carbide 330R Blackout Edition

Cooler Master G650M, 650W PSU ATX 12V V2.3, 80 Plus Bronze, Modular, 4x 6+2pin PCIe, 8x SATA, 6x Molex, 1x FD

ASUS Z97-P, Socket-1150 ATX, Z97, DDR3, 2xPCIe-x16, VGA, DVI, HDMI, M.2, Fan Xpert 2+, HomeCloud

Intel Core i7-4790K Socket-LGA1150,Quad Core,4.0GHz,8MB,88W,22nm,HD4600

HyperX Fury DDR3 1866MHz 16GB Red 2x8GB 1866MHz DDR3 CL10 DIMM (Kit of 2) HyperX Fury Red Series PnP

ASUS GeForce STRIX GTX 980 4GB PCI-Express 3.0, "DirectCU II"

Crucial BX100 500GB 2.5” SSD SATA 6GB/s, 535MB/450MB

Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit (Yes, managed to find WIN7 available)

Im not an expert on computer stuff, but this looks pretty solid to me.
Thoughts?

2LT (Ret) Storm:
I love ASUS products. I called ASUS customer service a few times to assist with my build - their support is second to none.  I personally have an ASUS motherboard (Formula VII) and graphics card (Strix GTX 970) and their performance is excellent. I would consider going with the GTX 970 over the 980 and save a few dollars. With the money you save, you could purchase an all-in-one CPU water cooler.

Overall, a solid build.

Joyce:
Looks solid. Consider adding a traditional HDD as a "data" drive, as SSDs have a limited number of read/write cycles and keeping your low-priority stuff off of it will extend its lifespan. Also make sure your cooling game is on lock, then overclock that processor about 10-15% for best ARMA-related results

SGT (Ret) Falconer:
I dont think the SSD lifespan will be an issue as I use the computer for gaming and interneting only. As for cooling, I have never trusted watercooling because I dont think water should be that close to sensitive electronics and I have never had cooling issues before so im assuming it will work now aswell.

I got the 980 instead of the 970 simply because the website told me to and money really wasnt an issue at the time.