Author Topic: 2K Resolution Settings?  (Read 4647 times)

SSG Speirs

  • 11B Infantryman
  • Combat Element
  • Posts: 642
2K Resolution Settings?
« on: January 23, 2020, 05:15:38 PM »
I'm not sure if it is our server mods or something else affecting my FPS but I'm getting roughly 35-55fps in action on training and operations with 506th servers. In solo play or when paying KOTH maps, I seem to get around 65-90fps in action.

My pc specs from latest benchmark:  https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/22215248

In-Game Settings: https://imgur.com/a/pYUYRVN

Any recommendations or optimizations that can be made would be great. I've noticed that if I drop some settings to increase fps it seems to take the load off of the GPU and transfers to CPU which nets a loss in frames. Ultimately anything stable over 30 is good for me but the range is whats killer for target recognition in firefights.

Thanks in advance!
E. SPEIRS
SSG, USA
Infantry, 1-506 Infantry


TSgt Hardman

  • 1Z371 Tactical Air Control Party
  • Combat Element
  • Posts: 6446
Re: 2K Resolution Settings?
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2020, 05:35:47 PM »
If you get 35-55 FPS in our operations I'm going to stab you and steal your PC. I average about 15-25 FPS.

If you want performance back quickly, drop your settings for Shadow, Particles and Clouds, and drop your draw distance to like 2k. 24k is unnecessary as you'll never have that much of a line of sight, but Arma will be trying to draw those objects anyway.
O. HARDMAN
TSgt, USAF
Reserve Platoon, 1-506 Infantry


SGT Price

  • 11B Infantryman
  • Combat Element
  • Posts: 1105
Re: 2K Resolution Settings?
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2020, 05:48:29 PM »
If you get 35-55 FPS in our operations I'm going to stab you and steal your PC. I average about 15-25 FPS.

If you want performance back quickly, drop your settings for Shadow, Particles and Clouds, and drop your draw distance to like 2k. 24k is unnecessary as you'll never have that much of a line of sight, but Arma will be trying to draw those objects anyway.

I get 15-25 as well and I got better specs than he does and I'm only running at 1080p so color me amused. Let's make this a planned murder - we get to split the jail time.
A. PRICE
SGT, USA
Infantryman, 1-506 Infantry


SGT A. Hawkins

  • 11B Infantryman
  • Combat Element
  • Posts: 841
Re: 2K Resolution Settings?
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2020, 05:53:43 PM »
12K render distance is what I found to be all I needed as an RTO viewing the battlefield from a UAV. That includes scouring the entire map for mortar pits. On the ground I have my distance set to 5k and have never had a problem with that. I have the shadow slider dropped all the way down, gives me 5 more FPS and I hardly notice a difference.
A. HAWKINS
SGT, USA
Reserve Platoon, 1-506 Infantry


SSG Speirs

  • 11B Infantryman
  • Combat Element
  • Posts: 642
Re: 2K Resolution Settings?
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2020, 08:57:51 PM »
Thank you all for the help, I'll give it a shot now and see what happens.

E. SPEIRS
SSG, USA
Infantry, 1-506 Infantry


1LT Margiotta

  • 11A Infantry Officer
  • Combat Element
  • Posts: 901
Re: 2K Resolution Settings?
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2020, 07:21:23 AM »
You men better keep your hands off my Privates!



If you get 35-55 FPS in our operations I'm going to stab you and steal your PC. I average about 15-25 FPS.

If you want performance back quickly, drop your settings for Shadow, Particles and Clouds, and drop your draw distance to like 2k. 24k is unnecessary as you'll never have that much of a line of sight, but Arma will be trying to draw those objects anyway.

I get 15-25 as well and I got better specs than he does and I'm only running at 1080p so color me amused. Let's make this a planned murder - we get to split the jail time.
A. MARGIOTTA
1LT, USA
Reserve Platoon, 1-506 Infantry


SGT Price

  • 11B Infantryman
  • Combat Element
  • Posts: 1105
Re: 2K Resolution Settings?
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2020, 02:03:46 PM »
You men better keep your hands off my Privates!

Too late, LT... I've already doxxed him. Me and Hardman are raiding his house during the next new moon.
A. PRICE
SGT, USA
Infantryman, 1-506 Infantry


SGT E. Smith

  • 11B Infantryman
  • Combat Element
  • Posts: 99
Re: 2K Resolution Settings?
« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2020, 02:49:44 PM »
I was the same as you, fairly low FPS in the range of 30 to 60 while in ops and squad training. All i did was optimize my game through the nvidia panel which seemed to settle it out a little bit but ive just installed another 8GB of ram ( Now 16 ) so im hoping ill be stable at around 50 going forward.
E. SMITH
SGT, USA
Infantryman, 1-506 Infantry


SGT Price

  • 11B Infantryman
  • Combat Element
  • Posts: 1105
Re: 2K Resolution Settings?
« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2020, 03:22:53 PM »
I was the same as you, fairly low FPS in the range of 30 to 60 while in ops and squad training. All i did was optimize my game through the nvidia panel which seemed to settle it out a little bit but ive just installed another 8GB of ram ( Now 16 ) so im hoping ill be stable at around 50 going forward.

How the fuck? HOW? I have 32GB RAM... An RTX 1060. nVIdia doesn't even care about Arma. The Control Panel maxes everything. How are you getting 60FPS in the ops???
A. PRICE
SGT, USA
Infantryman, 1-506 Infantry


SGT E. Smith

  • 11B Infantryman
  • Combat Element
  • Posts: 99
Re: 2K Resolution Settings?
« Reply #9 on: January 24, 2020, 03:27:46 PM »
It isn't a stable 60 but it jumps around from 30-60 which is why im hoping it will be a little more stable now during ops. I HOPE LOL
E. SMITH
SGT, USA
Infantryman, 1-506 Infantry


SFC (Ret) Heckman

  • 11B4O Infantryman
  • Retired
  • Posts: 479
Re: 2K Resolution Settings?
« Reply #10 on: January 24, 2020, 05:54:18 PM »
Threads like this crack me up. No one on planet earth can get 60fps stable during one of our ops. Im surprised more people don't do this but if you want to see how little arma cares about your specs you should drop EVERY setting to its absolute lowest during an official 60 man operation. Your fps will just stay the same or marginally change. Check your percentages on CPU and GPU. You cant run your GPU at 100% BECAUSE there are not enough frames to push a modern GPU. The fact that in your screen shots you are getting 52 fps on a server by yourself, im assuming, shows there is no way you reach 60 during an op. And that is fine. Arma isn't CoD. 20 is my threshold. Anything above is gravy. A solid 30 plus is amazing. As for your view distance... that shit is insane. 10000 while on the ground is way too much. Even if you spot anything chances are no one else will be able to see it and what are you going to do at that range anyway. I ran mine at 10k and it was more of a hindrance than a boon.

TL;DR
Your frames are fine. You have an amazing rig. 
M. HECKMAN
SFC, USA
Retired


MSG J. Brewer

  • 11B4O Infantryman
  • Combat Element
  • Posts: 1808
Re: 2K Resolution Settings?
« Reply #11 on: January 24, 2020, 06:48:24 PM »
^
J. BREWER
MSG, USA
Training NCO, Co A\1-506 Infantry


SGT Price

  • 11B Infantryman
  • Combat Element
  • Posts: 1105
Re: 2K Resolution Settings?
« Reply #12 on: January 24, 2020, 06:57:49 PM »
Glad to hear I'm not alone in 20FPS village  ;D
A. PRICE
SGT, USA
Infantryman, 1-506 Infantry